top of page

Odd Symbols + Writing Progress

So, wanted to write a thing about my like symbols

I’m on draft 2 and it almost looks like an actual book. There’s plot and dialogue and actual descriptions. So there’s progress but not much to talk about, slow days, days with lots of writing and many busy days (with many more to come).

But I finally figured out what I could share, and that I want to share, it’s fun for me to think about it, and maybe it’ll be useful for someone (or I’ll have fun and order my thoughts writing this). This being the symbols I use when writing.

Which don’t seem much, but they help me keep sane and structured when writing, so here they are:


//


A remnant from the two classes I took on programming. On it and if I recall correctly, they were added to insert comments, which meant you had the code which gave structure and ensured the program could run, and then you added this guys and the text next to it was green, it was useful for adding comments, notes, code that you might need if the one you were trying didn’t work, etc.


I wish I could say I use it that way, but not really. I use those guys when dividing different sections of a story (like when making asides or changing topics for a bit), or when I go into tangents (I also use the = sign, a bunch all together to form a little barrier)


(Pink Parenthesis)


Yes it has to be pink. That one is for anything that I need to work on my story on the next read through/draft; forgot to mention important bit: pink, theory or behind the scenes info of what the character is thinking that I need to develop through body language/subtle storytelling: pink, pothole that needs fixing: pink.

Ok it doesn’t have to be pink, but it stands out and looks neat.

(Also it’s worth mentioning that I use backgrounds with color on my writing files, so the pink works better that way)


(Grey Parenthesis)

Mysterious and efficient. Grey usually goes just below the typing line. It contains future insight into the plot. If I have an outline, it may be specific details that need to happen to get to a point, or an order of events, and if I’m not they’re what happens next so I don’t forget.


***

This is where the trash goes! Literally.


So I count my words written because I like that, and also have a writing goal active all year long ( have written it somewhere just know that it’s way too high) and also use 4thewords, which is basically a gamified platform for writing, so every word I write matters. So whenever a text, line or bit doesn’t work. It goes into the bin until it’s counted and deleted.


And that is all. I thought it was fun, cause this system kinda became what it is in an accidental/organic way, so I wanted to share it.


Anyway, writing has it’s quick moments and slow ones, but it’s still going.


Thanks for reading,

-Sereida

5 visualizaciones
bottom of page