top of page

Knowing when a year ends and knowing when a novel is a novel

This was going to be a random update, but I kept postponing it and it’s now a Christmas + New Year blog post. So happy holidays, and hoping to whoever reads this that next year is better in any way possible.


This was the year of many personal cool stuff, and the year I began working for real on my (still in progress) novel. First year of nano (30k words!!!), and a first draft (with only 5 chapters and an epilogue to go!!


It may take time, but it will eventually become an actual thing, hopefully next year. But I know it will become something, I’m not sure how’s it for everyone, but there was a point early on, before the first first draft and planning and all when the story made sense, when I realized a dream I had was gonna become a novel. Which is kinda funny cause it happened again recently…


It’s not overshadowing the project I’m working on, but I’ve already written a prologue and it feels like a real thing, I hate the main character which I guess it’s a good thing since he sucks, so that’s something to look forward to in the future.


As for drafting, I’m going back and forth between detailed scenes, dialogue and something that looks like a finished product (sort of), and sometimes just hurrying the characters along the plot, I’m trying to get a clear idea of what is happening and how and what everyone is meant to be doing. Some bits are moved here and there, and some characters have changed from the start of the draft to become something new, tbh I’m kinda looking forward to rereading this first draft once it’s done and working on it to become something closer to what I want it to be :)


Anyway, thanks for reading and happy holidays!

-Sereida

2 visualizaciones
bottom of page